The Words I’ve learned from The Big Bang Theory


This video is a clip of one of the many reasons why I love this show.

Over the past few months, I have gone on a Big Bang Theory Binge and got myself up to date on every single episode. This show is so hilarious, while at the same time intellectual and I think that’s why I love it so much.  Sheldon Cooper’s vocabulary on this show is so intellectual and over the top that it makes him funny, when he obviously is not trying to be.

I thought it would be useful to create a mini-dictionary for the commonly used vocabulary on this show.  It will put the jokes into perspective and perhaps make things even more funny when we understand the actual meaning of his witty “zingers

  1. Bazinga: The term Bazinga, however not an intellectual one, is part of Sheldon’s jargon used when he is stating he has made a joke or a “diss”.  He specifically uses this word as to not confuse the recipient of this joke and that he is in fact taking a jab at them.
  2. Coitus: This is a term I have never heard before, but it seems to be Sheldon’s only way of phrasing the act of “making love”. Of course he finds a way to equate science with the act of sex.
  3. Ergo: This is just a fancy way of saying “therefore” or “hence”.
  4. Social Conventions: Sheldon quite often reveals that he only does things based on the social conventions that normal people would interact within. For example, Sheldon feels like he must ask Penny about her day based on the social conventions of neighbors to make small talk while grabbing the mail.
  5. Larceny: Another fancy term for stealing ones property.

Here are just a few of the vast amounts of complex words and ideas Sheldon uses on the show.  Here are some quotes that show his way of speaking for those of you who haven’t watched the show.

On the contrary. I find the Grinch a relatable character, right until he succumbs to social convention and gives the presents back. What a buzzkill that was.
—Quote from The Maternal Congruence
I’m attempting to view my work as a fleeting peripheral image so as to engage the superior colliculus of my brain.
—Quote from The Einstein Approximation
That’s no reason to cry. One cries because one is sad. For example, I cry because others are stupid, and it makes me sad.
—Quote from The Gorilla Experiment

Under normal circumstances I’d say I told you so. But, as I have told so with such vehemence and frequency already the phrase has lost all meaning. Therefore, I will be replacing it with the phrase, I have informed you thusly.

One thought on “The Words I’ve learned from The Big Bang Theory

Leave a Reply

